BMW PGA Championship in numbers

It’s that time of year again when we pay a visit to Surrey’s Wentworth Club for what is arguably the most important event on the European Tour. This year the prize money has skyrocketed to a record €4.75 million, €250,000 higher than last year, while the champion alone will be entitled to €791,660. With some of the world’s greatest golfers taking part on a particularly challenging course, this is sure to be a tense and exciting event.


4 – The record number of wins by Sir Nick Faldo in 1978, 1980, 1981 and 1989.

10 – The number of former winners competing this week. They are: Paul Casey (2009), Luke Donald (2011, 2012), Scott Drummond (2004), Ignacio Garrido (2003), Anders Hansen (2002, 2007), David Howell (2006) Miguel Angel Jiménez (2008) Simon Khan (2010), Colin Montgomerie (1998, 1999, 2000) and José María Olazábal (1994).

20 – The age of Matteo Manassero, the youngest player in the event this year.

600 –  Miguel Angel Jiménez will beome the first golfer from Continental Europe to reach this landmark when he tees off on Thursday.

9 – The number of Major Champions in the field. They are: Michael Campbell, Darren Clarke, Ernie Els, Retief Goosen, Martin Kaymer, Paul Lawrie, Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and José María Olazábal.

– The number of holes-in-one in the history of the Championship.

27 – The number of Ryder Cup players competing.

33 – Including 2013, the number of times the West Course has staged the Championship. The years were 1972-74 and every year since 1984.

49 – The age of the oldest competitors in the event, Colin Montgomerie and Miguel Angel Jiménez.

103 – The number of different European Tour winners in the field this week.

275– The average winning score of the event.

8 – The former European Tour Number ones. They are: Luke Donald (2011), Ernie Els (2003, 2004), Retief Goosen (2001, 2002), Martin Kaymer (2010), Rory McIlroy (2012), Colin Montgomerie (1993-1999, 2005), Justin Rose (2007) and Lee Westwood (2000, 2009).

5 – Luke Donald has won the Championship the last two years. Five is the number of players in European Tour history who have won the same official European Tour event for three consecutive years. Also the number of former World Number Ones playing: They are: Luke Donald, Ernie Els, Martin Kaymer, Rory McIlroy and Lee Westwood.`

62 – The lowest recorded round in the history of the BMW PGA Championship by Robert Karlsson, in round three in 2010.

– The number of rookies to win the Championship. They are: Bernard Gallacher (1969) and Scott Drummond (2004).

20 – The most consecutive cuts made in Championship history by José María Olazábal.

25 – The number of appearances Colin Montgomerie and José María Olazábal would have made when they compete this year. This will be the 25th consecutive for Montgomerie, who has played every year since making his debut in 1989