We are the Champions

This is the ground-breaking event that the QIPCO British Champions Series leads up to, when the eyes of the racing world are focused on Ascot for the richest day in British racing. £3.4 million in prize money is on offer across the final races in each of the five QIPCO British Champions Series categories, presenting a fantastic opportunity for the season’s equine stars and their owners, together with the top trainers and jockeys, to achieve sporting immortality on Ascot’s historic turf.

The first two editions were sensational occasions that will long live in the memory.

In 2011 the mighty Frankel, the world’s best racehorse, maintained his unbeaten record with a breath-taking triumph in the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes and brilliant victories also for Cirrus des Aigles, Fame And Glory, Deacon Blues and Dancing Rain as the curtain came down in dramatic fashion on the inaugural QIPCO British Champions Series.

The following year was even better, with Frankel returning to sign off his illustrious and still unbeaten career in the QIPCO Champion Stakes, deafeating defending champion, Cirrus des Aigles, in brilliant style. The other prizes all went across the Irish Sea with the brilliant Excelebration getting his moment in the spotlight in the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes, Rite of Passge taking the QIPCO British Champions Long Distance Cup, Maarek landing the QIPCO British Champions Sprint and Sapphire the QIPCO British Champions Fillies & Mares Stakes.

A sell-out crowd of 32,000 – a modern day autumn Flat racing record in the UK – at Ascot on 20 October 2012 created an amazing atmosphere and once again the vast majority rated it as their best ever raceday.

Make sure you come along to Ascot on Saturday 19 October and savour the occasion for yourself in 2013!